Econometric methods of impact evaluation

Data-based impact evaluation methods are nowadays frequently used to measure the effect of public interventions (reforms, assistance programs, etc.). It is important to distinguish ex ante evaluations, which are based on the simulation of the envisioned intervention based on a structural econometric model estimated before its implementation (see below), and ex post evaluations, which are implemented using data collected after its implementation.

Essentially, an ex post evaluation is based on a comparison between individuals, households or firms benefiting from the intervention (the treatment group) and individuals, households or companies not benefiting from it (the control group, or counterfactual). Different econometric methods exist, and the choice of the right approach strongly depends on how the control group and the treatment group were formed. The ideal framework of analysis is a controlled experiment where the units in these two groups are randomly selected. This situation is, however, relatively rare in practice.

In the absence of such random selection, estimates are likely to be polluted by a selection bias in these two groups. When this selection bias can be explained by observable variables (under the hypothesis of independence conditional on observable characteristics), it is possible to use classical regression techniques to estimate the impact of reforms. Other methods, such as matching or propensity score, are also possible.

When the conditional independence assumption is violated, these methods produce biased estimates. It is then necessary to consider other approaches:

Instrumental variables
This method uses variables correlated with the treatment variable, but not with the variable measuring the outcome of the reform.

Regression discontinuity design
This method is used in situations where the probability of treatment is a discontinuous function of the value taken by a covariate other than the outcome variable (for example, the age or income of the individual or the size of the business).

The double differences estimator (or difference in differences)
This widely-used method consists of contrasting the change in the outcome variable in the control group with that in the treatment group, before and after the intervention. Its main weakness lies in the hypothesis of “parallel evolution” of control and treatment groups in the absence of public intervention.

Synthetic Control Method (SCM)
This is a more recent method that makes it possible to dispense with the hypothesis of parallel evolution. The SCM creates a synthetic control unit that represents the counterfactual of the “treated” unit (the unit benefiting from the intervention). This synthetic unit is created automatically by applying optimal weights to all candidate control units so as to minimize the distance (before intervention) between the treated unit and the synthetic control unit. An example of application is provided below.

Application example: Synthetic Control Method

The SCM was recently applied by ECOPA to evaluate a series of reforms in the countries of the Organization for Harmonization of Business Law in Africa (OHADA). An example of these reforms is the Uniform Security Organization Act, implemented in 2011, which broadened the range of assets that can be used as collateral and introduced the realization of an “autonomous” and extrajudicial security. The SCM analysis has made it possible to rigorously estimate the impact of this reform on access to credit in 10 member countries of the OHADA. The results indicate that 7 of the 10 countries (Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Comoros, Mali, Senegal, Togo and the Central African Republic) have seen a strong positive impact in terms of additional credits, ranging from USD 30 million (Comoros) to more than USD 1 billion (Senegal) over the period 2011-2015.

Analysis of time series and panel data

Econometric analysis of time series can allow ex ante evaluations based on relatively simple data. This consists of estimating the correlations between several time series (for example, time series of the tax rates of a given tax and the corresponding revenue) and deducing from it the probable response of a variable of interest as a function of an exogenous change in a policy variable (e.g., revenue response to a change of a given tax rate).

This approach uses econometric techniques to hold constant foreign exogenous effects on the policy or program to be evaluated. For example, in taxation analysis, the effect of a tax rate on the corresponding tax revenue can be influenced by GDP per capita. It is then introduced into the econometric model as a control variable, which isolates the effect of the tax rate.

Panel data analysis is an extension of time series analysis where data includes several observations over time for each individual (household, firm, region, etc.) in the population.

These techniques are usually simple from the point of view of the causal mechanism tested, but require solid econometric skills to adapt the approach to the structure of the data.

Micro simulations

Micro simulation models are analytical tools for simulating the effects of a given reform or program on a sample of agents (individuals or firms), or the entire population where possible, at the individual level.

For example, in tax policy analysis, a micro-simulation model can be effective in simulating the ex ante effects of a change in the progressive personal income tax schedule by applying it individually to each taxpayer so as to infer the new distribution of income tax due and the total expected income. Similarly, the micro simulation approach has been widely used to simulate the effects of household support policies based on their individual characteristics.

While the theory behind micro simulation models is generally simple, the analytical challenge lies in the preparation and manipulation of often cumbersome microeconomic data.

ECOPA has frequently implemented micro simulation models in the field of business and household taxation.

Macroeconomic models of computable general equilibrium

These models are based on national accounts tracing exchanges between agents and sectors of a region or country. They allow for the ex ante evaluation of a policy shock, such as a change in the rate of a given tax instrument or a reduction in tariffs as a result of a free trade agreement.

These models, which are implemented in specialized software (e.g. GAMS), are powerful but complex. Their implementation has a high cost of entry, especially as regards the development of the information base adapted to the policy or program to be evaluated. For example, for a measure supporting households, it will be necessary to isolate in the data the households concerned and the flow of income that will be directly affected by the support program concerned. These techniques should therefore be reserved for large-scale evaluations. They have been proven as very efficient in the ex ante analysis of international trade agreements.

Méthodes économétriques d’évaluation d'impact

Les méthodes d’évaluation basées sur les données sont aujourd’hui fréquemment utilisées pour mesurer les effets des interventions publiques (réformes, programmes d’assistance, etc). Il est important de distinguer l’évaluation ex ante, qui repose sur la simulation des interventions envisagées à partir d’un modèle économétrique structurel estimé avant leur mise en oeuvre (voir ci-dessous), de l’évaluation ex post, qui est réalisée à l’aide de données collectées après leur mise en oeuvre.

Pour l’essentiel, l’évaluation ex post est fondée sur la comparaison entre des individus, ménages ou entreprises bénéficiant de l’intervention (groupe de traitement) et des individus, ménages ou entreprises n’en bénéficiant pas (groupe de contrôle, ou contre-factuel). Différentes méthodes économétriques existent et le choix de l’approche à appliquer dépend fortement de la manière dont ont été constitués le groupe de contrôle et le groupe de traitement. Le cadre d’analyse idéal, celui des expérimentations contrôlées, correspond au cas où les membres des deux groupes sont choisis de manière aléatoire (par tirage au sort). Cette situation est cependant relativement rare en pratique.

En l’absence de tirage aléatoire des groupes de traitement et de contrôle, les estimations sont susceptibles d’être polluées par un biais de sélection de ces deux groupes. Lorsque ce biais de sélection peut être expliqué par des variables observables (hypothèse d’indépendance conditionnelle à des caractéristiques observables), il est possible de recourir à des techniques classiques de régression pour estimer l’impact des réformes. D’autres méthodes, telles que l’appariement ou le score de propension, sont également utilisés.

Lorsque l’hypothèse d’indépendance conditionnelle est violée, ces méthodes produisent des estimations biaisées. Il est alors nécessaire d’envisager d’autres approches :

Les variables instrumentales
Cette méthode utilise des variables corrélées avec la variable de traitement, mais pas avec la variable qui mesure le résultat de l’intervention.

La régression avec discontinuité
Cette méthode est appliquée dans les cas où la probabilité de traitement est une fonction discontinue de la valeur prise par une covariable autre que la variable de résultat (par exemple, l’âge ou le revenu de l’individu, l’effectif de l’entreprise,…).

L’estimateur des doubles différences (ou différences des différences)
Cette méthode très répandue consiste à contraster le changement de la variable de résultat entre le groupe de contrôle et le groupe de traitement, avant et après l’intervention. Sa principale faiblesse réside dans l’hypothèse des « évolutions parallèles » des groupes de contrôle et de traitement en l’absence d’intervention publique.

La MCS (Méthode des Contrôles Synthétiques)
Il s’agit d’une méthode plus récente qui permet de s’affranchir de l’hypothèse des évolutions parallèles. La MCS permet de créer une unité de contrôle synthétique qui représente le contre-factuel de l’unité traitée. Cette unité synthétique est créée de manière automatique en appliquant des poids optimaux à l’ensemble des unités de contrôle, de manière à minimiser la distance avant intervention entre l’unité traités et l’unité synthétique. Un exemple d’application est donné ci-dessous.

Exemple d’application: la Méthode des Contrôles Synthétiques

Cette méthode a été appliquée récemment par ECOPA pour évaluer une série de réformes dans les pays de l’Organisation pour l’Harmonisation en Afrique du Droit des Affaires (OHADA). Un exemple de ces réformes est l’Acte Uniforme sur l’Organisation des Sûretés, mis en œuvre en 2011, qui a élargi la gamme d’actifs pouvant être utilisés comme sûretés, et introduit la réalisation d’une sûreté « autonome » et extrajudiciaire. La MCS a permis d’estimer rigoureusement l’impact de cette réforme sur l’accès au crédit dans 10 pays membres de l’OHADA. Les résultats indiquent que 7 des 10 pays (Burkina Faso, Cameroun, Comores, Mali, Sénégal, Togo et la République centrafricaine) affichent un fort impact positif en termes de crédits supplémentaires, allant de 30 millions USD (Comores) à plus de 1 milliard USD (Sénégal) sur la période 2011-2015.

Analyse des séries temporelles et des données de panel

L’analyse économétrique des séries temporelles peut permettre une évaluation ex ante d’une réforme basée sur les données relativement simple. Elle consiste à estimer les corrélations entre plusieurs séries temporelles (par exemple : séries temporelles des taux d’imposition d’un impôt donné et des recettes correspondantes) et d’en déduire la réponse probable d’une variable d’intérêt en fonction d’un changement exogène d’une variable de politique (par exemple : réponse des recettes à un changement de taux d’un impôt donné).

Cette approche met en œuvre des techniques économétriques permettant de contrôler les effets exogènes étrangers à la politique ou au programme à évaluer. Par exemple, en matière de fiscalité, l’effet d’un taux d’imposition sur les recettes fiscales correspondantes peut être influencé par le PIB par tête. Celui-ci est alors introduit dans le modèle économétrique comme variable de contrôle, ce qui permet d’isoler l’effet propre du taux d’imposition.

L’analyse des données de panel est une extension de l’analyse des séries temporelles où les données comprennent plusieurs observations au cours du temps pour chaque individu (ménage, entreprise, région, etc.) dans la population.

Ces techniques sont habituellement simples du point de vue du mécanisme causal testé, mais impliquent une compétence économétrique pointue, selon la structure des données.

Micro simulations

Les modèles de micro simulation sont des outils d’analyse permettant de simuler ex ante les effets d’une réforme ou d’un programme donné sur un échantillon d’agents (individus ou entreprises), ou éventuellement la population entière quand cela est possible, au niveau individuel. La simulation d’une réforme de politique économique consiste à évaluer les effets du changement qu’elle produit sur cet échantillon d’agents et leur activité ou comportement.

Par exemple, un modèle de micro simulation peut être efficace à simuler ex ante les effets d’un changement du barème progressif de l’impôt sur le revenu des personnes physiques en l’appliquant individuellement à chaque contribuable pour en déduire la nouvelle distribution de l’impôt dû et le total des recettes attendues. De même, l’approche par micro simulation a été largement utilisée pour simuler les effets de politiques d’aide aux ménages en fonction de leurs caractéristiques individuelles.

Si la théorie sous-jacente aux modèles de micro simulation est généralement simple, le défi analytique tient à la préparation et à la manipulation de données microéconomiques souvent lourdes.

ECOPA a fréquemment mis en œuvre des modèles de micro simulation dans le domaine de la fiscalité des entreprises et des ménages.

Modèles macroéconomiques d’équilibre général calculable

Ces modèles sont basés sur les comptes nationaux retraçant les échanges entre agents et secteurs d’une région ou d’un pays. Ils permettent l’évaluation ex ante d’un choc de politique tel qu’un changement de taux d’un instrument fiscal donné ou d’une baisse de droits de douane consécutive à un accord de libre-échange.

Ces modèles, qui sont mis en œuvre sur des logiciels spécialisés (par exemple GAMS) sont puissants, mais complexes. Leur mise en œuvre a un coût d’entrée élevé, notamment pour ce qui concerne la mise au point de la base informationnelle adaptée à la politique ou au programme à évaluer. Par exemple, pour une mesure d’aide aux ménages, il faudra isoler dans les données les ménages concernés et le flux de revenu qui sera directement impacté par l’aide concernée. Ces techniques sont donc à réserver aux évaluations de grande envergure. Elles ont fait leur preuve dans l’analyse ex ante des accords de commerce international.